

Colorado Restaurant Association Announces 2023 Lifetime Achievement Award and Industry Spotlight Award Winners

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – October 24, 2023

Denver, CO – **The Colorado Restaurant Association** (CRA) is pleased to announce the winners of the **2023 Lifetime Achievement Awards**, who were celebrated and inducted into the Colorado Foodservice Hall of Fame at the CRA's Board of Directors and Lifetime Achievement Awards Dinner on Tuesday, October 17, 2023, at the Broadmoor Resort in Colorado Springs.

This prestigious awards program celebrates Coloradans who are devoted to the idea of hospitality and practice it in their daily lives. These individuals are recognized throughout the industry for the significant contributions they have made through their careers in leadership, service, and dedication to the foodservice industry and Colorado community.

2023 Colorado Foodservice Hall of Fame Inductees

The Colorado Foodservice Hall of Fame was established in 1978 to honor those individuals who have served as an inspiration and example through their long careers in service and significant contributions to the local restaurant industry.

- **Chip Bair**: Founder, Beau Jo's (Idaho Springs, Fort Collins, Arvada, Evergreen, Steamboat Springs, Lone Tree)
- Andy Clark (posthumously; October 20, 1975 November 7, 2022): Founder and Owner, Moxie Bread Co., the Mill Site, Moxie Feed + Seed, Moxie Mercantile (Louisville, Boulder, Lyons)
- Holly Arnold Kinney: Owner, the Fort Restaurant and Executive Director, Tesoro Cultural Center (Morrison)

It's also a great pleasure to announce the winners of the CRA's annual **Industry Spotlight Awards**, who will be recognized at a ceremony taking place on **Wednesday**, **November 8, 2023**, **at the Chambers Grant Salon in the Ellie Caulkins Opera House** (1400 Curtis Street, Denver), beginning at 6 p.m.

The CRA's Industry Spotlight Awards is the only awards program for Colorado's hospitality community that celebrates contributions at all levels of the industry, from back-of-house employees and managers to chefs and owners. Awards are also given to honor individuals and hospitality partners who serve as outstanding mentors and allies for the industry.

2023 SIGNATURE DISH AWARDS

- OUTSTANDING COMMUNITY PARTNER: Visit Denver (Denver)
- OUTSTANDING ALLIED PARTNERS: **Republic National Distributing Company** (Littleton) and **Southern Glazer's Wine & Spirits** (Aurora)
- EXCEPTIONAL NEWCOMER: Francisca Chacon, Twenty One Steak (Pueblo)
- OUTSTANDING MEDIA PROFESSIONALS: **Molly Martin**, *Westword* (Denver); **Kip Wilson**, Stoned Appetit (Denver)
- OUTSTANDING PROFESSIONALS: **Anthony Lambatos**, Footers Catering/MIBE/Social Capitol Events (Denver); **Madeline Stamm**, Elevated Inc. (Cheba Hut; multiple locations)
- OUTSTANDING REGIONAL PROFESSIONAL: Ezra Gutierrez, The Dish Room (Burlington)
- OUTSTANDING PHILANTHROPIST: **Arlan Preblud**, We Don't Waste (Denver)

2023 STARS OF THE INDUSTRY AWARDS

Given to employees in the hospitality industry who have demonstrated exceptional professionalism and contributed to the positive image of the foodservice industry in Colorado.

- BOH EMPLOYEES OF THE YEAR: Jose Manuel Garcia, Brider Rotisserie & Kitchen (Denver); Matthew Hernandez, The Dish Room (Burlington); Joe Link, Sullivan Scrap Kitchen (Denver); Martin Mendez, Sweet Basil (Vail)
- CHEFS OF THE YEAR: Jenna McNeil, Jax Fish House & Oyster Bar (Glendale); Kenny Minton, Coperta (Denver); Greg Weadick, Monarch Chophouse at Monarch Casino Resort Spa (Black Hawk); Nicholas Winden, Laundry Kitchen & Cocktails (Steamboat Springs)
- FOH EMPLOYEES OF THE YEAR: Nicholas Caten, Tavernetta (Denver); Humberto Ruiz, Rioja (Denver); Marco Vazquez, Twenty-Four 7 Restaurant at Monarch Casino Resort Spa (Black Hawk); Michelle Yates, Colonel Mustard's Sandwich Emporium (Colorado Springs)
- MANAGERS OF THE YEAR: Karla Bernhard, Homegrown Tap & Dough (Denver); Oscar Meir Carrillo, Brider Rotisserie & Kitchen (Denver); James "Steve" Pollard, Rhino's Sports and Spirits (Colorado Springs); Hildo Salvador, Ted's Montana Grill (Littleton)
- BARTENDERS OF THE YEAR: George Wright IV, Tavernetta (Denver); Dylan Zarett, ADOBO (Denver)

RICHARD P. AYERS DISTINGUISHED SERVICE AWARD

• Richard Schneider, Raquelitas Tortillas (Denver)

#

About the Colorado Restaurant Association

The Colorado Restaurant Association (CRA) is dedicated to the enhancement and success of Colorado's foodservice industry. Founded in 1933, the CRA is the leading trade organization for the state's dynamic restaurant scene. The CRA represents, educates, and promotes a \$20+ billion industry comprised of more than 12,800 eating and drinking establishments and more than 303,000 workers, representing 11% of the state's workforce. <u>corestaurant.org</u>